Thought of the day…LET GO-D

Image

So…a couple of weeks ago on Christmas Eve, my phone died. When I say “died”, I don’t mean the battery. I MEAN MY PHONE. While out with my friend, I reached into my purse to check my phone to see what time it was and it was super hot! I thought it was odd, but I still pushed the button on the side of it to see what time it was. Nothing. I kept pressing it. Surely it would eventually light up and show me what I was looking for. Nothing. “What the hell?!” I said out loud. I then decided to do my own “reboot” of the phone by taking the battery out and blowing in the back of the phone ( how I used to do the Nintendo Games when they had a glitch) before restarting. To no avail.

Y’all, I am such a phone fiend that I had to find out what was going on. Maybe it died or something right? My friend and I weren’t ready to leave the establishment we were at but  my “phone thirsty self” had to get to the bottom of the mystery. I went to my car to see if a charge would revive it. Nothing. WTF  was going on??? Needless to say, my night was ruined. After that, all I could think about was what was going on with my 2nd child. My phone is my lifeline y’all. That is how I do a majority of my blogging and how I stay connected to the outside world. I have no home phone. I haven’t had one for years.

The next morning, bright and early, I went to the AT&T store to see what was up. “I never seen anything like this.” the clerk said as if he was talking about a medical mystery. My phone had suffered from heart failure. It was gone. No turning back. It had literally fried to death. To make an even longer story short. I lost everything. All my pictures, videos, and contacts that I had made over the past seven years. There was no way to recover any of them. I got really angry thinking about all the memories that I could never look back at, or the phone numbers of acquaintances that just may reach out again or perhaps I could do the same. But then I had an epiphany. I am a firm believer that everything happens as it should. There was a reason that God wanted me to start over. The people that actually meant something to me, or more importantly…I meant something TO, would reach out and make contact. If  I wasn’t an important factor in their life, they wouldn’t. Regardless of if I felt they should. It would put things in perspective for me as to where I stood in their lives. Bottom line is this. We have to let go and not be afraid of the consequences. Sometimes you have to look at the things that happen in your life as a sign. If someone isn’t adding value to your life, they are taking away from it. Do some house cleaning this year. Don’t be forced to do it like I was. Clearly I had people and things in my life that I didn’t need to take into 2013 with me. I started the New Year fresh and I am ready to make more memories with the people that matter the most. Sometimes we have to let go and not be afraid of losing people, places, and things that we feel are important to us. Because if it is meant to be, they will find their way back to you. Thanks God, for forcing me to let go and put it all in perspective. Letting go feels awesome!!

~Tah

Categories: Relationships, Thought of The Day

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Very well said lil sis! My sentiments exactly…

Speak your mind!

