Is NFL Draft bust JaMarcus Russell thinking of a “COMEBACK”? Boy sit down…

Jamarcus Russell

Ok you guys, I am a firm believer that you can do anything you set your mind to. With the right will power, prayer, and people around you anything is possible. That is why initially, I felt bad poking fun at the thought of JaMarcus Russell, the number 1 pick in the 2007 NFL draft, making a “comeback”. But then, I had to be honest with myself and say, “JaMarcus, sit down.”

Russell, 27,  who at one time uploaded his resume on popular job site Careerbuilder.com, has informed Shutdown Corner that he intends to work out at a football academy in Florida and that he wants another chance in the NFL.  He says he now weighs 308 pounds (down from 320) and has the thirst to play again. JaMarcus, who hasn’t played a down of football since tryouts with the Washington Redskins and Miami Dolphins in 2010, might find overcoming himself his biggest challenge. Russell states:

“My first year out, I couldn’t watch football but after a while, I couldn’t keep the TV off. I got that itchy feeling but now I gotta watch it, gotta watch,” Russell said. “The last few years, the things going through my life, football is my job and it is how it feeds my family. People would say [that] I didn’t love the game but that pisses me off. People don’t know the real you but I want people to know the real me and see what I can do. People are always saying that I’m a bust. I want show them I’m not. I’m committed to this now.”

The former quarterback is said to be training with former NFL wide receiver Michael Clayton and Brian Martin of TEST Football Academy and TEST West, whose draft products include Joe Flacco and Patrick Peterson among others.

JaMarcus, I wish you the best of luck. However, you may want to have a backup plan boo. Oh, and stay away from the purple “drank” (codeine syrup) and cut back on the pizza and wings if you want at least a REMOTE chance of making a comeback.

Categories: Latest news, NFL, Sports, WTF?!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Speak your mind!

