MANTI TE’O: Fake girlfriend story shouldn’t affect my draft status…

image

Te'o works out at IMG Academy (Getty Images)

With the combine beginning here in Indianapolis on Wednesday, Manti Te’o hopes scouts will still consider his football talent to be “the real deal” even though his girlfriend wasn’t.

The linebacker from Notre Dame who made headlines earlier in the year after it was learned he lied about having a lil boo (as I like to call young love interests) and having met her. Te’o tried to clear the air last month in a TV interview with Katie Couric, but several people (me included) still feel he was involved in the hoax which could downgrade his draft status.

“As far as my stock dropping or rising, that’s not up to me. The only thing I have to do is just do well, run fast, just be myself, be quick,” Te’o told USA Today on Monday. “What I did on the field is what I did on the field. I dont think what I did with this whole situation, I don’t understand how it takes away from what I did on the field.”

Te’o then goes on to say, “I didn’t do anything illegal. I didn’t break any rules, I didn’t hurt anybody. I just wasn’t very forthcoming, as forthcoming as I should have been but in that, I didn’t do anything wrong…”

Well he is right. No one was hurt in the fiasco. But it does call Te’o’s credibility into question. Many believe his Heisman consideration was somewhat based on him overcoming the tragedy of losing his grandmother and girlfriend within hours of each other. Now we know half of that story was a lie. Well, we can only wait and see what happens in April. Te’o will go first round, but I predict it won’t be top 10. What do you think?

Categories: NFL, Relationships, Sports

Tags: , , , , ,

Speak your mind!

